Perpetual Mercy

I WILL sing of the mercy and loving-kindness of the Lord forever; with my mouth will I make known Your faithfulness from generation to generation. For I have said, Mercy and loving-kindness shall be built up forever; Your faithfulness will You establish in the very heavens [unchangeable and perpetual]. (Psalm 89:1, 2 AMP)

This wasn’t a song of David who sang and played the harp for his king, Saul. This was Ethan the Ezrahite, much less famous or honored in our eyes than David. Singing isn’t just for the famous and beautiful. It’s for all of us. When our hearts are filled with His mercy it’s very difficult not to sing. Songs take on a light and a warmth that we take in and are called to pour out.

image

His mercy, faithfulness and lovingkindness will be in the heavens. How wonderful that will be … To share them with each other forever and they won’t dwindle or alter. They are and will be unchangeable and perpetual.

I used to sing in the choir. But i found out in a gentle way I was off key. I can hear the pretty, correct notes in my head but they won’t come out my worshipful mouth. I love to worship in song. It recreates my heart after a crazy week. One day ten years ago a Minister of Worship read a verse from Psalm 98:4 and there are bunches of verses that are commandments for us to sing. He said “God likes to hear you sing!” So I can sing in the car or wherever it’s just God and I and i will enjoy the worship of the One that deserves my worship, my heart, because of His perpetual mercy..

Leave a Reply

