New Ministry Again

But the Lord was with Joseph, and showed him mercy and loving-kindness and gave him favor in the sight of the warden of the prison. (Genesis 39:21 AMP)

I lost my job in 2007 and was quite disappointed. I had been working as an administrative assistant talking to people, praying with people and at the same time doing the bulletin, etc. a sudden stop to all the activity was difficult.

If God’s mercies can reach a man thrown in prison unjustly, then God could reach me in my situation. I became involved with the singles at church and put together a newsletter with pictures. My ministry turned to writing. God was merciful to me in giving me an informal mentor during all this, also.

God’s qualities such as mercy, grace, kindness, joy may not make our life’s activities perfect again. They don’t always restore right away our lives to their original status or better. But they sweeten our days. They bring us closer to His heart image
and carry us through when we pray. If it’s so difficult that we can’t find words, he even prays for us in groaning too deep for our words.

He brightens the doldrums, He provides a ministry or maybe some much needed rest. But most of all he walks closely with us to eventually take us to the other side.

Leave a Reply

