Powerfully and Tenderly

I have not concealed Your righteousness
within my heart;
I have proclaimed Your faithfulness and Your salvation.
I have not hid away Your steadfast love and Your truth
from the great assembly. [Acts 20:20, 27.] (Psalm 40:10 AMP)
I wish I could say I speak of His righteousness,
His faithfulness and truth.
I tend to get judgmental when I speak of truth.
But it’s right and convicting.
Rather than risk pushing someone towards the darkness
Because of my own clumsiness.
I speak of His steadfast love.
I’m not saying that’s the right way to live
Just my way as I’ve settled it between me and God
Sometimes people say if you are going to err in conversation
Err by showing too much grace.
I would guess this is because God meets us at the mercy seat.
And that time He saw His sinning son from far away.
There was no grudge. There was no blame. There was a party!
He was home!
Grace. Mercy. Love.
It’s all that’s left for me to say. Help me Lord to only speak in love
Until I’m ready to speak truth in love.
And until I can speak it in power tenderly.

image

Leave a Reply

